ISO 20000 and BS15000


BS15000 was the first major standard specifically aimed specifically at IT Service Management. It described an integrated set of management processes for the effective delivery of services to the business and its customers. It comprised of two parts

BS 15000-1. This was the formal specification and defined the requirements for an organization to deliver managed services to an acceptable quality. It comprised ten sections: Requirements for a management system; Planning and implementing service management; Service delivery process; Relationship processes; Resolution processes; Control processes; Planning and implementing new or changed services; and Release processes.

BS 15000-2. This was the 'Code of Practice' and describes the best practices for Service Management processes within the scope of the part 1. This was of particular use those preparing to be audited against part 1 or planning service improvements.

In 2006 BS15000 was 'fast tracked' through the ISO process, and eventually emerged as the truly international standard, ISO 20000. It is now emerging as the global driving force behind structured cost effective ITSM.



ITIL Resources
A number of resources have emerged to support both ITIL implementation and individual certification, the most widely used of which is the ITIL Toolkit. We have reviewed this in its own section:The ITIL Toolkit.

Other resources and support materials will be covered in due course.

ITIL Books
Our in-house ITIL bookshop will be opened very soon.

 Copyright ITIL Central 2007